ANNEX 1

LIST OF NATIONAL SERVICES RESPONSIBLE FOR BORDER CONTROL

The national services responsible for border controls under the national legislation of each Member State for the purposes of Article 15(2) are:

- for the Kingdom of Belgium: Federal Police (Police Fédérale / Federale Politie);
- for the Republic of Bulgaria: the Directorate-General for Border Police of National Police Service;
- for the Republic of Croatia: granična policija (Border Police).
- for the Czech Republic: Ředitelství služby cizinecké policie, celní správa (Directorate of Foreign Police Service, Customs);
- for the Kingdom of Denmark: det danske politi (Danish Police);
- for the Federal Republic of Germany: Bundespolizei (Federal Police), Customs and Federal State Police in Bavaria and Hamburg;
- for the Republic of Estonia: Politsei- ja Piirivalveamet (the Police and Border Guard Board);
- for the Hellenic Republic: Ελληνική Αστυνομία (Helliniki Astynomia Hellenic Police), Λιμενικό Σώμα (Limeniko Soma Hellenic Coast Guard), Τελωνεία (Telonia Customs); Πολεμικό Ναυτικό (Polemiko Naytiko Hellenic Navy);
- for the Kingdom of Spain: Cuerpo Nacional de Policía, Guardia Civil, Servicios de Aduanas;
- For the French Republic:
 - a) Border controls at border crossing points:
 Direction centrale de la police aux frontières (Central Border Police Directorate),
 Direction Générale des Douanes et Droits Indirects (Directorate-General for Customs and Excise), Gendarmerie de l'Air (Air Gendarmerie);
 - b) Border surveillance between border crossing points: services de la Direction Générale des Douanes et Droits Indirects (departments of the Directorate-General for Customs and Excise), la Gendarmerie Nationale (the National Gendarmerie), la Marine Nationale (the French Navy) and l'ensemble des services de la Direction générale de la police nationale (all the departments of the Directorate-General of the National Police).
- for the Italian Republic: Polizia di Stato, Carabinieri, Guardia di Finanza;
- for the Republic of Cyprus: Αστυνομία Κύπρου (Cyprus Police), Τμήμα Τελωνείων (Customs and Excise Department);

- for the Republic of Latvia: Valsts robežsardze (State Border Guard);
- for the Republic of Lithuania: (Valstybės sienos apsaugos tarnyba) the State Border
 Guard Service under the Ministry of the Interior;
- for the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg: special Police division at the airport (Service de Contrôle à l'Aéroport (SCA) de la Police grand-ducale);
- for the Republic of Hungary: Rendőrség (the National Police) and Vám-és Pénzügyőrség (the Customs and Finance Guard). The latter is present at external borders with Ukraine, Serbia and Croatia;
- for the Republic of Malta: Malta Police Force, the Armed Forces of Malta (AFM) and the Malta Customs Department;
- for the Kingdom of the Netherlands: Koninklijke Marechaussee, Customs (entry and excise duties), Rotterdam (port) District Police;
- for the Republic of Austria: Bundespolizei (Federal Police);
- for the Republic of Poland: (Straż Graniczna) the Border Guard;
- for the Portuguese Republic: Serviço de Estrangeiros e Fronteiras, Brigada Fiscal da Guarda Nacional Republicana;
- for Romania: Poliția de Frontieră Română (Romanian Border Police);
- for the Republic of Slovenia: slovenska policija (Slovenian police);
- for the Slovak Republic: Border Police and Customs;
- for the Republic of Finland: (Suomen Rajavartiolaitos) Border Guard(main responsibility), Customs and Police;
- for the Kingdom of Sweden: (Polismyndigheten) Police (main responsibility), assisted by the Coast Guard, the Customs and the Migration Board. Maritime border control is the independent responsibility of the Coast Guard;
- for the Republic of Iceland: Ríkislögreglustjóri (The National Commissioner of the Icelandic Police; Lögreglustjórar (District Chiefs of Police);
- for the Kingdom of Norway: Police (main responsibility), with assistance in certain cases by the Customs or the Armed Forces (Coast Guard or Garrison at Varanger-South);
- for the Swiss Confederation:
 - a) Cantonal police force in the cantons of Geneva, Zurich, Bern, Soleure and Valais;
 - b) Border Guard service: the Border Guard service carries out checks on persons at the border as part of its normal duties and pursuant to agreements between the Federal Department of Finance and the cantons (Article 23(2) of the Ordinance on the entry and visa procedure, OPEV; RS 142.204);

_	for Liechtenstein: As Liechtenstein does not have a Schengen external border, it has no national service responsible for border control.