Lists of third countries whose nationals must be in possession of a visa when crossing the external borders and of those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement

00000

A) List of third countries whose nationals must be in possession of a visa when crossing the external borders

1. States

AFGHANISTAN

ALGERIA

ANGOLA

ARMENIA

AZERBAIJAN

BAHRAIN

BANGLADESH

BELARUS

BELIZE

BENIN

BHUTAN

BOLIVIA

BOTSWANA

BURKINA FASO

BURMA/MYANMAR

BURUNDI

CAMBODIA

CAMEROON

CAPE VERDE

CENTRAL AFRICAN REPUBLIC

CHAD

CHINA

COMOROS

CONGO

COTE D'IVOIRE

CUBA

DEMOCRATIC REPUBLIC OF CONGO

DJIBOUTI

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC

ECUADOR

EGYPT

EQUATORIAL GUINEA

ERITREA

ESWATINI

ETHIOPIA

FIJI

GABON

GAMBIA

GHANA

GUINEA

GUINEA-BISSAU

GUYANA

HAITI

INDIA

INDONESIA

IRAN

IRAQ

JAMAICA

JORDAN

KAZAKHSTAN

KENYA

KUWAIT

KYRGYZSTAN

LAOS

LEBANON

LESOTHO

LIBERIA

LIBYA

MADAGASCAR

MALAWI

MALDIVES

MALI

MAURITANIA

MONGOLIA

MOROCCO

MOZAMBIQUE

NAMIBIA

NAURU

NEPAL

NIGER

NIGERIA

NORTH KOREA

OMAN

PAKISTAN

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

PHILIPPINES

OATAR

RUSSIA

RWANDA

SAO TOME AND PRINCIPE

SAUDI ARABIA

SENEGAL

SIERRA LEONE

SOMALIA

SOUTH AFRICA

SOUTH SUDAN

SRI LANKA

SUDAN

SURINAME

SYRIA

TAJIKISTAN

TANZANIA

THAILAND

TOGO

TUNISIA
TURKEY
TURKMENISTAN
UGANDA
UZBEKISTAN
VANUATU¹
VIETNAM
YEMEN
ZAMBIA
ZIMBABWE

2. Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State

KOSOVO ² PALESTINIAN AUTHORITY

- B) List of third countries whose nationals are exempted from holding a visa when crossing the external borders
- 1. States

ALBANIA³

ANDORRA

ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA

ARGENTINA

AUSTRALIA

BAHAMAS

BARBADOS

BOSNIA AND HERZEGOVINA³

BRAZIL

BRUNEI DARUSSALAM

CANADA

CHILE

COLOMBIA

COSTA RICA

DOMINICA

EL SALVADOR

NORTH MACEDONIA³

GEORGIA³

GRENADA

GUATEMALA

HOLY SEE (VATICAN CITY STATE)

HONDURAS

IRAEL

¹ The exemption from the visa requirement for all nationals of Vanuatu is suspended from 4 February 2023 to 3 August 2024.

² As defined by the United Nations Security Council Resolution 1244 of 10 June 1999.

³ The visa exemption applies only to holders of biometric passports.

JAPAN

KIRIBATI

MALAYSIA

MARSHALL ISLANDS

MAURITIUS

MEXICO

MICRONESIA

MOLDOVA³

MONACO

MONTENEGRO³

NEW ZEALAND

NICARAGUA

PALAU

PANAMA

PARAGUAY

PERU

SAMOA

SAN MARINO

SERBIA^{3 4}

SEYCHELLES

SINGAPORE

SOLOMON ISLANDS

SOUTH KOREA

ST KITTS AND NEVIS

ST LUCIA

ST VINCENT AND THE GRENADINES

TIMOR-LESTE

TONGA

TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO

TUVALU

UKRAINE²

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

UNITED KINGDOM

URUGUAY

VENEZUELA

2. Special Administrative Regions of the People's Republic of China

HONG KONG S.A.R.⁵ MACAO S.A.R.⁶

² The visa exemption applies only to holders of biometric passports.

⁴ Excluding holders of Serbian passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate (in Serbian: Koordinaciona uprava).

⁵ The visa exemption applies only to holders of a "Hong Kong Special Administrative Region" passport.

⁵ The visa exemption applies only to holders of a "Região Administrativa Especial de Macau" passport.

3. British citizens who are not nationals of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland for the purposes of Union law:

British nationals (Overseas)
British overseas territories citizens (BOTC)
British overseas citizens (BOC)
British protected persons (BPP)
British subjects (BS)

4. Entities and territorial authorities not recognised as States by at least one Member State

TAIWAN⁷

⁷ The exemption from the visa requirement applies only to holders of passports issued by Taiwan which include an identity card number.